Weeks 1 & 2

First week of my plan from my trainer was absolute hell. The only way for me to describe it is when I’m running and I’m nearing the end of my mileage for that run and I have to say to myself, “Just two more miles, just two more miles. You can do it!” or “Just one foot in front of the other. Just one foot in front of the other”. I’ve never had to do this when it comes to lifting. At least not in this extreme where I really want to quit but I know I *should* finish. It’s easy to do that when the only person you are reporting to is yourself. I had to say to myself A LOT, “I can’t do this….seriously…my <insert any muscle group here> are going to fall off”. Don’t underestimate what only 4-5 exercises can do to ones body in a strength training workout. My first leg day I didn’t think I was going to be able to drive home. I certainly could not walk correctly for the days after. And this goes for all of my workouts that week. I. Hurt. Bad. I never ran that week. Even when my legs felt fine (which never really happened), my arms hurt too much to swing them.

As far as nutrition went, I ate a lot of food. My body needed it to recover. I ate a lot of carbs and a lot of fat and quite a bit of protein. I’m waiting for MGN to restock on muscleandstrength.com but they seem to not be well informed with dates of shipment because almost 2 months ago I asked and they said, “two weeks to ten days” and then I asked three weeks later and it was “within the week” and now it’s been 2.5 more weeks and still out of stock. Anyway, I lost 4 pounds and my size 6 pants from college fit again. They have fit me three times since college. Pregnant with #!, pregnant with #2, at the end of marathon training and this week. I log my food on sparkpeople.com. They have a huge database and it’s easy to enter something if it’s not on there. Also, you can do a recipe count too. Just put in the ingredients and put number of servings and it tells you the macros. I had an issue the first 4-5 days about not eating enough the first half of the day and then logging my stuff after dinner and going, “Ummm…I have 500 extra calories….” so I’ve been eating bigger breakfasts and lunches now. I really have to set a timer at 3 hours because my household is so out of control that I really lose track of time. If I’m hungry at 2 hours or 2.5 hours, I just eat then but 90% of the time I forget about it. This has really curbed me from binge eating right before dinner every night or eating waaaaaaay too much during dinner.

 

During week 2, my muscles were kind of expecting the same beating again so they were more prepared. I was still sore. Still had to talk myself through a few sets but nothing like week 1. If it was easy, then I moved my weights up. I also got food poisoning during the week and then at the end of the week, I was grocery shopping with the family (for the first time in a year I think) and I about passed out in the produce section and threw up in the bathroom. I have no idea what that was all about. So I went two days of pretty much not being able to eat and then two days of pretty much eating whatever I saw because I was so hungry. My weight hasn’t changed at all, makes sense. I wouldn’t have even been surprised if I had gained weight. Either way, I’m not too worried about my weight, just my gains in strength and loss of inches, which I promised my trainer I would not measure myself for 10 weeks.

 

I’m glad to see where my starting point is (not strong AT ALL) so I can start to improve from there. This is pretty much rock bottom for me. Pretty sure 80 year old women are stronger than me 🙂

Leave a Reply

