Shredded Chicken Tip

I feel like when I learn new kitchen tricks and I try to pass them onto friends that I slowly find out that I’m always the last to know about these tricks. So please excuse this tip if I am, indeed, the last to know.

I hate shredding chicken (or any meat for that matter), which is why I think I avoid it at all cost. Recipe calls for shredded? We get it cut in strips or small chunks. My good friend and I were canning up a storm and somehow we got onto the subject of shredded meat, you know, regular topic of conversation, right? And she told me of this trick! Look!!

Put it in your kitchenaid mixer (or any stand mixer) and use the regular mixing paddle (not the wisk and not the dough hook) and turn it on low. WHAT?!?! HOW DID I NOT KNOW THIS??? I was even skeptical to tell you the truth.

So tonight I poached 1 {large} chicken breast cut into two. I cheat and use a digital read out thermometer that has every meat known to man kind programmed on it whenever I cook any type of meat whether poaching, baking or grilling. There is nothing I hate more than dry and tough meat.

After about 25 minutes the chicken was done and I took the two medium sized chicken breasts and threw them into my 6 quart bowl. I honestly thought the two pieces were just going to play cat and mouse with each other as the paddle just pushes them around the bowl. That happens for about the first 5-7 seconds and then a piece of the breast will get caught between the paddle and the bowl and then VOILA! It’s just a chain reaction from there and within about 45 seconds to 1 minute you have perfectly shredded chicken.

Enjoy and your shoulders and sanity will thank you for no longer using the two-fork method 🙂

Leave a comment