“Clean” Blondies

This recipe is from DAMY. I wasn’t too too impressed but I think there are things that I could have done differently to make this a success. First, I’m not a fan of almond butter but I have a jar of it that I needed to go through. I think if I had used peanut butter (huge fan of that! who isn’t??) these would have been less “blah” to me. Second, about a month ago I slam dunked my blender into the trash can after I got fed up with the piece of junk and I only have a 3 cup food processor so I processed the chic peas alone, which is dry and so they didn’t come out as smooth as I think they would have it I was able to blend everything at the same time. <—wow run on sentence, glad you made it to the end. I will be making these again, hopefully with a new blender or food processor.

Yield: Makes 12 Brownies

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 Cup Pure Pumpkin Puree
  • 1/2 Cup Natural Nut Butter (Almond or Peanut Butter)
  • 1/3 Cup Honey (Agave, Maple or Stevia)
  • 1 Egg
  • 1/4 Cup Egg Whites
  • 1/4 Tsp Salt
  • 1/2 Tsp Baking Soda
  • 1 1/2 Cup Chickpeas
  • 1 Tsp Vanilla Extract
  • 1 1/2 Tbsp (or more – to taste) Cinnamon

 

Directions:

  1. Preheat oven to 350 F.
  2. Place all Blondie ingredients in the food processor and blend until smooth (stopping to scrape down the sides).
  3. Spray an 8×8 baking dish with a healthy, non-stick oil.
  4. Spread blondie batter evenly in dish.
  5. Sprinkle with cinnamon if you want.
  6. Using a knife swirl cinnamon.
  7. Place in the oven and bake for 40 minutes.
  8. Remove from oven and let sit in the baking dish for 10 minutes.
  9. Cut into brownie size pieces.
  10. Place on a cooling rack and enjoy!
  11. Storage tip – Place these brownies in a sealed-tight container and store in the refrigerator.

In the photo, I topped it with 1 tsp of sugar free caramel topping but I also plan on eating them with some chocolate PB2 and some natural peanut butter since they were a little “blah” for me liking.

Nutritional Info (1 square):

Calories: 138

Fat: 6.5 g

Carbs: 16 g

Protein: 5.8

 

If you add the caramel topping (1 tsp) add another 45 calories.

One thought on ““Clean” Blondies

Leave a Reply

