Sweet Potato (or Pumpkin) Protein Pancakes

I was chit chatting with Katherine today and came across one of her older recipes that I had wanted to try. She originally made hers with sweet potato but I had left over pumpkin puree from making protein pumpkin bars on Tuesday so I just had to make these for dinner, yum!

So you actually get two of these massive pancakes and I ate one right then and I just ate the second one about 2 hours later.

Here is her original post, she used Torani Syrup and Stevia and I just went ahead and used honey. So I also updated the nutritional info (which added 36 carbs and 50 calories for the honey exchange. Honestly, you could get away with half a Tbsp of honey, they whey is sweetened).

  • 1/2 cup old fashioned oats (you can make flour if you’d like)
  • 1/3 cup pumpkin puree
  • 2 egg whites
  • 1/2 scoop vanilla protein powder
  • 1/4 tsp baking powder
  • 1/4 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1 Tbsp honey
  • 2 Tbsp milk (skim, almond, soy, ect)

Put all ingredients in a bowl and combine just using a fork or a whisk. Pour half of the batter onto a sprayed skillet on medium-low heat. Flip when edges of the pancake begin to dry out. I suggest using a bigger pan because it doesn’t harden up like a regular pancake so you want to be able to get your spatula underneath it without it breaking because it’s so soft, yum! These are VERY moist, something I have been missing from protein pancakes.

She goes on to make a caramel cream, which if I would have had the SF topping, I would have made but I just topped mine with SF maple syrup.

Nutritional Info: 2 pancakes

  • Calories: 340
  • Fat: 3.3 g
  • Carbs: 77 g
  • Protein: 27 g

Thanks for giving me faith again in protein pancakes!

Leave a Reply

