Tomato Paste

I get really frustrated when a recipe calls for 1 or 2 Tbsp’s of tomato paste. That means I have to open up one of those tiny cans, use half of it, put the other half in the fridge, completely forget about it and let it get moldy. Well not anymore!!

I have about 60 of these little cubes from making the boys baby food but they are pretty much pointless for my boys because their first meal is the equivalent to a trucker’s special at Denny’s. I don’t think either boy has eaten just 2 Tbsp’s of food before. So these little things I got when I lived in Montreal and I got 5 dozen of them for like $3 a set and they have a nice little tray that they stack in and then they stack on top of each other. They hold 2 Tbsp’s so it’s perfect. I just fill them up and put them in the freezer door until the next annoying recipe calls for half a can ๐Ÿ™‚

 

Another tip with tomato paste is getting it out of the can easily. If you look at the top and the bottom lip, they both indent inwards, where as a Campbell’s soup can the top dents in and the bottom puffs out so you can only open it from the top with a can opener. Well! On a tomato paste can, you can use a can opener on BOTH sides and then push one lid through the can and it pushes all the paste out nicely. Want another little tidbit? Refried bean cans are designed the same way ๐Ÿ™‚

Happy can opening ๐Ÿ™‚

4 thoughts on “Tomato Paste

  1. Not all refried cans are…. unfortunately. Best bet: Fantastic Foods dried refrieds, they are SO much better!! And you can dish out what you need.

  2. I get my tomato paste in the tube, only use what I need and refrigerate the rest…. It’s like a toothpaste tube, I love it =)

    • I’m assuming it’s more expensive than buying a case of cans (organic) at Costco?? If it’s the same price, then I’ll be switchin’ over! My grandmother’s friend mentioned the tube on FB as well. I looked at herbs in the tub and they were expensive. I’d rather just used dried ๐Ÿ™‚

      • I looked at the herbs too but prefer fresh…I noticed a lot of them were not just the herbs straight up and I don’t like all the extra stuff in it….
        It is organic and all natural as well, double concentrated, more pricey I assume too… I don’t know the price of Costco. Just saves a lot of time and space!

Leave a Reply

