Protein Pumpkin Bars

These are from Jaime Eason and I made them for my mom’s group Tuesday and I only heard good things! Here is the original post 🙂

  1. Preheat the oven to 350 (or if baking with honey, preheat to 325).
  2. Spray a 9 X 13 Pyrex dish with non-stick spray.
  3. Combine first 11 ingredients and mix well.
  4. Add the final 3 ingredients (4, if adding walnuts), and mix until incorporated. Spread batter into the Pyrex dish and bake for 30 min.
  5. Makes 24 squares.

Nutritional Info:

Xylitol with walnuts: 1 square = 63 calories, 2.3 g fat, 8 g carbs, 4 g protein

Xylitol without walnuts: 1 square = 47 calories, .7 g fat, 8 g carbs, 3.7 g protein

Honey with walnuts: 1 square = 74 calories, 2.3 g fat, 12 g carbs, 4 g protein

Honey without walnuts: 1 square = 58 calories, 2.3 g fat, 12 carbs, 4 g protein

 

So basically you have added 11 more calories and 4 more carbs if you chose honey, which is a great natural alternative if xylitol does a number on your stomach. I actually thought it would be A LOT more calories and carbs until I calculated out the difference.

I usually eat two of these with either PB2, peanut butter or almond butter on top. I know the ladies were also dipping into our fresh 1 gallon tubs of organic & local honey and putting it on top 🙂

 

9 thoughts on “Protein Pumpkin Bars

    • It tastes, looks and bakes just like sugar but with 40% of the calories and less carbs for someone that is trying to cut down on their sugar and carbs. This is also good for diabetics and apparently is good for people that are prone to cavities. The only downside is that it does make peoples stomachs upset when you eat in large quantities. I know when I have a lot of it, it doesn’t sit well with me. It’s the only low cal sweetener that I actually LIKE the taste of and I’ve tried Stevia, Truvia and Splenda.

      • I use stevia occasionally and sadly find it’s got a bitter aftertaste. Splenda is probably the safest sugar substitute but all chemical sweeteners feel a bit suspect to me. I think I now remember that xylitol is a type of sugar that is metabolized differently in the body than sucrose (its low glycemic). This would have benefits. I might check it out – thanks!

      • I’m going to have to disagree with everything I’ve learned that Splenda is probably one of the not so good sweeteners for you and you should have it very sparingly if have any at all. Scientists made splenda by accident when they were trying to formulate a pesticide. It’s glucose with six molecules replaced with chlorine molecules. Regardless, I dislike splenda the most when it comes to taste. I’m going to stick with honey I think from here on out 🙂

  1. I LOVE them! I personally think they are great for curbing a sweet tooth!! If I am feeling naughty I add a handful of semi sweet chocolate chips to the batter, then baked! Yummy 🙂

    • Thank you so much for making me try this recipe 🙂 Xylitol isn’t the nicest thing to my stomach, so I made it with honey and it came out way WAY more moist and fluffier. Who would have thought?? Thanks again for this recipe Nicole!

    • That’s why I’m stickin’ to honey 🙂 I run and cycle enough to deal with the slightly extra carbs and cals. If food doesn’t taste good, it’s not likely that I’ll stick with the program 🙂

  2. Erythritol is another sugar alcohol that has no calories and is less likely to upset the digestive system than xylitol. It is 70% as sweet as sugar. In my opinion, the best part of these sugar alcohols is that they have the same “crunch” as sugar so they’re good when, say, you’re making a cobbler and want to coat the fruit with cinnamon and sugar.

Leave a Reply

