I’ve learned a few things

…in the past 5.5 weeks.

  • Most people do not know how important diet is in order to lose fat. It’s 80% of it, if not more. Exercise is just the icing on the cake…..or the peanut butter on the celery 😉 There are a few woman that are very lean and strong that I have noticed that work out at the same time as I do. I’ve taken the liberty to one by one ask them (in the locker room….no time for small talk out on the floor) what their diet looks like. Lean sources of protein, carbs from whole grains and fruit and as many veggies as their heart desires. How much do they workout? It varies from 3-6 days a week. How much cardio? It varied from NONE to A LOT. The ladies that answered, “none” said it was simply because it isn’t part of their desired goal. They don’t have a passion to go for a 5 mile run, they instead of a goal of power versus endurance. The lady (because there was only one) that does A LOT of cardio is a marathon runner, imagine that! It’s part of her goal and she LIKES DOING IT. She also knew the importance of needing to be strong, not only in her legs but her entire body in order to do a lot of endurance training. Out of all women I’ve talked to, one is a grandmother of 5 and six have multiple young kids. Which leads me to my next point….
  • People (women) assume that because you are in shape, you don’t have kids. About every other week I have some older female say to me, “Oh enjoy it while you can! Wait until you have kids!”. Really? Because I have two already. I’m not sure why women think that kids is an excuse, because it’s not.
  • You need to set yourself up for success. My mother-in-law says this all the time regarding the boys. Don’t want the kids to crack the eggs against the wall? DON’T PUT THE EGGS WHERE THEY CAN’T REACH THEM! Duh. Stupid me….I mean…that’s never happen to me….errrr. Anyway, plan ahead. I always get caught up on lunch and you just grab some crap food or go through the drive thru? Or possibly worse, SKIP IT???!! Make a day to make your lunches ahead of time. Grill some chicken, roast some sweet potatoes and green beans and put it into 7 containers. Put two in the fridge and 5 in the freezer. There, the hard part is done! No thinking required and as a stay at home mom, I love that 🙂 Also, don’t bring crap food into your house and if it’s currently in your house, kiss it and throw it away. Nothing tastes as good as having the body you want. I wouldn’t bring home a slew of Thomas the Trains, put them in the toy chest and then say to the boys, “No, DON’T TOUCH THEM!”. See how stupid that sounds? Set yourself up for success.
  • “Just as exercising too much can hamper your progress, so can not eating enough”
  • When you fall off the train, don’t give up. Start over THE NEXT MEAL. You know what’s worse than having a slice of pizza? Have TWO slices of pizza. You know whats worse than having TWO slices of pizza? Have a liter of ice cream afterwards. See! Now having the ONE slice doesn’t seem so bad if you get back ON the train instead of falling further off of it. This is my hardest thing and I’m still working on it. The, “well might as well eat as much garbage as I can since I already ruined it with this one 70 calorie pack of fruit snacks so let’s eat another 1000 calories that’s not on my meal plan” type of attitude. See how stupid that sounds? Don’t wait until the next day to start over, just pick yourself up at the next meal. Don’t throw away the whole day.
  • Giving up too soon. I bet if you would have held on just another couple of days, you would have lost that 1 pounds or 1 inch or could zip up those jeans or drop 30 seconds on your mile time or done 1 more rep. Consistency is key….which leads me to my last point.
  • People that are negative towards your healthy lifestyle change are dealing with their own issues. Don’t mind them. You know the ones I’m talking about. The ones who say, “You’re addicted to the gym” or “Why are you on a diet? You’re so skinny!” or “Well…I’m just so busy I don’t have time” (ok, side rant, no one has time. I don’t have time. I make time. Right, that’s what mom’s do. They make things happen. I get up at 4:15 am to go the gym because that’s the only time I have. Or I stay up 20 minutes later to make my snacks/meals for the next day. Side rant over). Just don’t worry about those people. Unless you are hitting up the gym for hours on end, everyday and eating 800 calories a day, you don’t have issues. They do and it typically starts with a little word that starts with a “j”.  You’re not addicted, you are committed. And can I just brag for a moment? I have gone from 35 pounds on leg extensions (12 reps, 3 sets) to 115 pounds (8 reps, 3 sets) in under 6 weeks. I also have pretty much no knee pain while running anymore either, which means I have finally strengthened my quads so my knee crap tracks properly. It used to hurt within the first 100 yards and now I’ve gone 4 miles with no pain. I’m so excited to just keep progressing forward and becoming stronger!

I’m not perfect and I needed to rant about remind myself of these “ah-ha!” moments I’ve had and I hope they help other people too! Happy Wednesday 🙂

One thought on “I’ve learned a few things

Leave a Reply

