Stir Fry & Brown Rice

Stir fry is something I made probably at least once if not twice a week. I have no real recipe for this but if you don’t know how to make brown rice:

Take 1 cup brown rice and put it in a medium or small sauce pan. Add 1 1/4 cups water to the rice. Put on the stove on high until it comes to a full boil (don’t walk away for too long, I got distracted once and it probably boiled for a while and the rice never ended up cooking). Once it comes to a boil, turn the burner down on low and set the timer for 20 minutes and put a lid on the rice. After the time is up, remove the saucepan from the burner and let sit for at least 10-15 minutes. I usually have the rice done before I start cooking the stir fry, Just keep the lid on it, it will stay warm

As for the stir fry, I really just throw everything together. Pick a protein, today it was scallops for us. Other things you can use are chicken, pork, beef (not ground), egg or shrimp. I sauteed 12 ounces of them with half of a large onion and lots of garlic. Season with salt & pepper. Then I look to see what I have for veggies, which is usually a lot. Today I used a yellow bell pepper, green beans and broccoli. Other things have used are tomatoes, celery, red/green/orange bell peppers, peas, carrots…sky is the limit. Take whatever is about to go bad in your fridge πŸ™‚

Then I pour probably about 1/4 of some sort of stock, today was veggie stock (organic in a box type of stock, always have veggies, beef and chicken on hand. Watch the ads, the organic ones go on sale often. You can get organic chicken stock, 8 boxes in a case at Costco for cheap too). Put the lid on your pan and let it sit until the veggies are bright colored (not almost brown and soggy like my husband likes, haha)

And done! I eat 1/2 cup cooked brown rice and 2 cups of veggies on top. Top with soy sauce or Bragg’s liquid amino’s for a healthier choice. Easy and quick.

On a different note- people ask me a lot, “Well what do your kids eat?” and my answer is, “The exact same thing as us” as you can see from the photo. I don’t think I have ever made the kids some different for dinner or lunch. Breakfast I ask if they would like “egg host” which is eggs and toast, “two hosts” which means “toast with PB&J”, ” oh-meal” which means oatmeal or “dadda treat” which means “honey nut cheerios”. Most of the time it’s eggs and toast or toast with natural PB with homemade jam. If I make oatmeal and they ask for something else, I almost always have to give up at least half of my oatmeal to my apparently starving children πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

