Turkey Chili

This is one of the few things I make repeatedly in our house, which is really REALLY rare. It’s even more rare that I made up the recipe and it actually tasted good, ha! I know some people like to hoard and not share their “secret recipes” but if it wasn’t for people sharing their recipes….well….we’d probably eat PB&J every night, with store bought jam because I’d also not know how to make jam (or bread or peanut butter)! When people ask for a recipe, I give it. So here it is for everyone at the BBQ that I promised I would post the recipe TONIGHT πŸ™‚

**You can do whatever combination of canned beans/corn/tomatoes to your liking. Some days I don’t have black beans so I sub something else. Some days I just used whole canned tomatoes and no sauce. I like to keep things interesting…well…actually, I hate running to the grocery store with two boys in tow**

  • 1 lb (or so) of ground turkey (or chicken or beef or pork depending on your diet)
  • 1 large onion, chopped
  • 1 bell pepper, chopped (pick a color, in this photo I used red)
  • minced garlic (I’m lazy partial to the stuff already in a jar. Use LOTS of it, like 6 tsp or so)
  • Season with salt & pepper

Saute the above ingredients in a large pan until onions and peppers are soft and meat is well browned. While everything is cooking, get out your can opener and start opening the following cans and dumping them into your crockpot. You can use as many or as little of these options as you’d like:

  • 1 can garbanzo beans (chic peas), drained
  • 1 can red kidney beans, drained
  • 1 can white kidney beans, drained (I usually pick one or the other of the kidney beans, but you can get crazy and use both)
  • 1 can (small or medium) of green chilies
  • 1 can black beans, drained (a must have)
  • 1 28 oz can of whole tomatoes (I use 1 quart of home canned whole tomatoes, juice and all! Do not drain!)
  • 1 12 oz can of tomato sauce (half the time I use, half the time I don’t)
  • 1 small can of tomato paste (half the time I use, half the time I don’t)
  • 1 can of corn or a cup of frozen corn (optional!)

Now this is the important part, the seasonings. After you have opened these 10 million 8 cans and your hand is now sore, the meat should be ready to go. Dump it into the crock pot and stir it up. Now just add the seasonings! These are estimates, I usually just pour stuff in or spoon it out but they are pretty accurate.

  • 3 Tbsp chili powder (yes this is a lot, use it ALL!)
  • 1.5 Tbsp brown sugar
  • 3 tsp oregano (dried is slightly better than powdered, but whatever you have is fine)
  • 2.5 Tbsp cumin
  • 1/8 tsp allspice
  • 1/8 tsp cloves
  • 1 tsp salt

Done! Viola! Put it on low all day or high for 2 hours to just get it hot. Or if you are super not with it that day (like me most) just put it all in a big pot (instead of the crock pot) and heat it up on the stove! But it’s better if you let the seasonings sink in for a bit. This recipe makes A LOT. We usually freeze about 3 portions of it and it reheats like a dream. Yummmmm! It’s late and tomorrow I will post the nutritional info for those interested πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

